BusinessPlanHub
Food & Beverage

Sample Wine Store Business Plan

Published 27 August 2026 · Example business: Vino Maestro (Wine Store)

Looking for a wine store business plan? You're in the right place.

A wine shop buys its inventory months before it sells it and takes over a third of its revenue in two months. How much inventory does opening day need? What does a Boston lease do to the margin? How does the shop pay distributors in September for sales that arrive in December? A template with blank boxes does not show what a sensible answer looks like.

This article walks through a complete sample plan for an independent wine shop in Boston, Massachusetts: the executive summary, the SWOT analysis and, above all, the financials, so you can see how the shelf, the tasting bar, the club and the gift desk fit together.

What you'll take away:

  • The executive summary: see how to put an inventory-heavy retailer on one page so a lender grasps the ask and the payoff quickly
  • The SWOT analysis: learn how to name a weak spot, such as sales concentrated in two months, without losing the reader
  • The start-up budget: find out how much goes to inventory, fixtures, the license and a reserve before the doors open
  • The first twelve months: spot the thin months ahead of time and size the cash reserve to the fall inventory build
  • The sales plan: see how a club, tastings and gift baskets lift a shelf business, and what each earns
  • The five-year profit, cash flow and balance sheet: understand how inventory turns, distributor balances and the holiday peak show up in the numbers
  • The downside case: have an answer ready for "what if sales come in a fifth short?", with the owner's response spelled out

If you're opening a wine shop, read this before you write your own. The business is fictional, so take what fits and change the rest.

In this plan

If you need a wine store business plan template for your own plan, start it in the Toolkit.

5-Year Financial Highlights
RevenueOperating costsNet income($500k)$0$1M$2M$3M$1.45M$1.53M($298k)Year 1$94k$2.1M$2.02M$34kYear 2$97k$2.45M$2.3M$105kYear 3$177k$2.69M$2.51M$103kYear 4$256k$2.88M$2.69M$114kYear 5$294kCashyear end
Year 1 revenue$1.45M
Year 5 revenue$2.88M
Year 5 net income$114k
Year 5 closing cash$294k

Vino Maestro in Brief

Vino Maestro is an independent wine shop in Boston's South End. It opens in January 2027 in about 2,100 square feet of leased ground-floor retail and basement stockroom, and it earns from seven lines: bottles sold over the counter, online and phone orders with local delivery, a monthly wine club, paid tastings and classes, private and corporate tasting events, gift baskets and corporate gifting. Cris Martin holds 70% of the company and does the buying. The other 30% belongs to two minority investors who do not work in the business.

The company raises $720,000: $280,000 of Cris's savings and condo-share proceeds, $240,000 from the two investors and a $200,000 bank term loan. Opening inventory takes $175,000, shelving, the cooled wine room, the tasting bar and the point of sale $122,000, and the license, legal work, rent during build-out and the launch $173,000. A further $250,000 stays in the bank as a reserve for the slow first months, the fall inventory build and a weak first year.

Year 1Year 2Year 3
Revenue$1,452,320$2,098,213$2,451,209
Net income after start-up costs($298,464)$34,132$105,084
Closing cash$94,489$96,706$177,318

Year 1 loses money. A wine shop pays for its inventory, its lease and its staff from the first week and takes over a third of its revenue in November and December. The shop sits below break-even from January to September, turns positive in October and takes $322,912 in December alone; the three months from October bring $94,193 of EBITDA against a loss of $80,064 for the whole year. The first profit comes in Year 2, a thin 1.6% net margin, and Year 3 earns 4.3%.

A downside case cuts sales by a fifth in every year. Cris takes a pay cut from month 7, three hires are never made and the coordinator and an evening shift are delayed or scaled back, inventory is held tighter and the bank keeps the loan interest-only for three years. The shop still ends every year with cash, at no less than $25,160, though Year 2 is tight and fails a 1.25x debt-cover test in Year 2 and narrowly in Year 4. The cash lows quoted in this plan use one basis, the monthly view with 6 days of receivables deducted.

Two things must be settled in writing before the lease is signed. The first is the license: the supply of package-store licenses is capped, the $85,000 is a planning figure and, with no license, there is no shop. The second is whether that license allows paid tastings on the premises, since about $93,700 of Year 1 revenue and a $98,000 build-out that includes the tasting bar rest on it. Four months from lease to opening, with build-out and a license transfer, is also an aggressive timetable, and the $55,000 pre-opening line is tight. Cris owns 70% for $280,000 of cash because the investors' $240,000 buys 30% of an $800,000 company and the rest of Cris's stake is credit for the founder's work and personal guarantee.

What sets the shop apart is a buying list built from small producers and importers that the supermarket aisle does not carry, a tasting bar that sells the list to people who would not otherwise try it, and a club and gifting desk that turn single sales into repeat orders.


The Shop, the Lease and the License

Legal name: Vino Maestro, Inc., a Massachusetts corporation. Owners: Cris Martin, 70%; two minority investors, 30% between them, with no role in the shop. Premises: about 2,100 square feet on a South End retail street: a selling room of roughly 1,500 square feet with a tasting bar for 16, a cooled wine room, and a basement stockroom holding the packing bench. The lease runs five years and carries an option to renew; the bank would want a landlord waiver covering the fixtures. Opening: January 2027, after about four months of lease negotiation, build-out and licensing. The lease is in draft, and the license route is the open item.

The license

The license is the main risk in the plan. Massachusetts alcohol licenses are granted by the local licensing authority, and the number of package-store licenses is capped. Outside Boston, General Laws chapter 138, section 17 sets the cap by population; the section excludes Boston, and the plan does not state how many package licenses the city allows or how its board decides. Because a capped license usually changes hands by private sale, its price follows scarcity rather than a fee schedule. The plan's position is a license acquired by transfer, covering wine, spirits and sake, with ticketed tastings and local delivery allowed under it. The $85,000 for the license, filings and counsel is a planning figure with no public price behind it, and it could be well short. If no license is available on acceptable terms in the neighborhood, the shop does not open. The lease would not be signed until the license terms are settled with the licensing board, and the reserve covers a license that costs about $30,000 more, and a larger overrun needs more equity. The $85,000 and the lease deposit are expensed in the model as start-up costs, though a purchased license and a deposit would be assets. Ticketed tastings on the premises are a second open point: the plan's position is that the license allows them, and the owners would get that in writing from the licensing board before signing the lease.

Goals through 2029

  1. Revenue of $2,098,213 in 2028 and $2,451,209 in 2029.
  2. A first profitable year in 2028, and debt cover of 2.9x in 2029.
  3. Year-end inventory turning 4.6 times by 2029, up from 3.4 in the first year.
  4. An average of 250 club members in 2029, up from 165 at the end of 2027.
  5. 160 corporate gifting orders in 2029, up from 55 in the first season.

Boston Wine Buyers and the Shelves They Choose Between

The owners read Boston as a dense market of renters and condo owners with a heavy restaurant culture and a population that turns over each year, which produces many small purchases and many gifts. It also produces high rents and a crowd of competitors. That description is the owners' own and is not sourced, and the plan quotes no market-size, consumption or household figures; a lender would ask the owners for local data, and a broker and the licensing board could supply the count of nearby package stores.

Five kinds of seller share the same customers. Supermarkets and convenience chains with wine aisles are close and cheap, with a range built for volume. Large specialty retailers and warehouse-style stores win on price for the top-selling labels, which the shop does not try to match. Other independent shops compete on advice and range, and each has a loyal base. Online retailers and delivery apps offer breadth and convenience, though most cannot pour a bottle or pick one for a dinner that night. Restaurants and wine bars sell to the same drinkers and are also the shop's best source of word of mouth.

The shop's position is a range of small-producer and imported bottles, bought for the staff's knowledge of them, in a room with a tasting bar and a person to answer questions. It does not chase the top 50 labels on price. The 36% margin on the shelf is the plan's pricing choice for that mix, not an industry benchmark, and it is the figure a lender should test first: two points off every line turn Year 2 into a $7,832 loss.

SWOT

PositiveNegative
InternalStrengths: a founder with nine years in wine retail and restaurant buying who runs both the buying and the floor; a tasting program at 66% to 70% margin; a club and gifting desk that repeatWeaknesses: a first lease and a first license for the founder; $264,000 of inventory tied up at the end of Year 1; sales concentrated in November and December
ExternalOpportunities: corporate gifting from nearby offices; residents of new buildings without a regular shop; classes for people new to wineThreats: a rise in the cost or a tightening of the terms of the license; discount chains and delivery apps taking the top labels; a slow holiday season

Who Walks In, Who Orders, Who Gives

The neighborhood regular buys one or two bottles several times a month for dinner, and carries most of the shelf line: 16,500 register transactions in Year 1 at an average of $63. These buyers also provide most of the shop's word of mouth. The shop expects about 3,700 of them to buy at least once in Year 1, at about 4.5 trips each.

The gift buyer arrives in the last six weeks of the year, or before Mother's Day and Valentine's Day, with a budget and no opinion. A basket at $96 is an easy answer. About 800 baskets are sold in Year 1, and about 70% of basket revenue falls in November and December.

The club member has already decided the shop picks well. Two tiers, at $66 and $104 a month, put two or three curated bottles into a home each month. Members collect in the shop, which brings them in once a month, and the packing bench handles the rest.

The corporate buyer is an office manager, an events lead or a small firm's owner looking for client gifts or a team tasting. Orders are larger, $800 on average, are invoiced on 30-day terms and arrive from September to December. Fifty-five orders are planned in the first season, which starts when the coordinator joins in month 9.

Every group asks for the same thing: someone to say which bottle and why. The staff's product knowledge is the shop's actual product, and the plan spends on it through the manager, the associates and the tasting bar.


How a Bottle Becomes a Sale

Most sales begin at the shelf. A person enters, is asked what the bottle is for, and is steered to two or three options at a price. A shelf-talker states what each wine is and what to serve with it, and the staff keep a short tasting note for each of the 150 bottles that rotate through the front tables each month.

The route into the club, the baskets and corporate gifting runs through the tasting bar. A person who comes to a Friday tasting meets the manager, tries six bottles and leaves with two. The shop invites the best-matched of those into the club, and offers a basket in November.

Pricing. Most bottles sit between $18 and $45, and the shop targets a margin of about 36% after its case discount, a pricing choice the owners set rather than a sourced benchmark. A case discount of 10% brings regulars back and applies to about one purchase in five. No bottle is matched to a chain's loss-leader price. A basket at $96 contains about $53 of cost including packaging. Corporate gifts run from $400 to $2,000 and are quoted per order.

Club. The club opens in month 2. Members choose a two-bottle tier at $66 or a three-bottle tier at $104 a month, and the shop picks the bottles. About 190 people sign up in Year 1 at 3% monthly churn, and the year ends with 165 members.

Tastings and classes. Seats sell at $58 for a 90-minute class that averages about 12 people in a bar of 16. The shop runs about two sessions a week in Year 1 and three in Year 3, a calendar that stays inside the capacity of the room and the manager's time. Private and corporate events are priced at $1,500 for about 16 guests.

Delivery. Online and phone orders are delivered locally, with an age check at the door. The plan does not ship out of state, because direct shipping rules vary by state and need their own permission.


Reaching Boston Buyers

The marketing plan is $54,000 in Year 1: $24,000 of opening costs paid out of the raise plus $30,000 of running spend. If about 3,700 people buy at the shelf in Year 1, that is about $15 a buyer. The spend then holds near $30,000 a year, because the club, the repeat buyers and the corporate list do most of the selling.

  • Opening tastings. Six weekend tastings in the first 90 days, each hosted by a producer or an importer, which also earn a margin and introduce the shop to the block.
  • A neighborhood list. A weekly email with one featured bottle, the week's tastings and a short note from the buyer, built from every register sale where the customer opts in.
  • Producer dinners and partner restaurants. The shop supplies a short list to nearby restaurants for their own events, and asks them to send guests across.
  • Corporate outreach. A coordinator starts in month 9 to call on offices within about two miles in September, ahead of the holiday ordering window, and keeps a list of 40 to 60 companies.
  • Search and map listings. The web store and the local business listings, which one person updates every month. The club and the baskets have their own pages.

The corporate list carries the Q4 forecast. Fifty-five orders in the first season from a list of 40 to 60 companies means most of them order once, and later years rely on repeat orders and a longer list. How many of those companies reorder is not known, and the owners check it every October.


Inventory, the Basement Stockroom and the Calendar

Buying and inventory

The shop buys through licensed distributors and importers. Inventory is $175,000 at cost on opening day, and year-end inventory is $264,273 at the end of Year 1, turning 3.4 times, and $325,673 in Year 3, turning 4.6 times. Distributor balances are paid in about 24 days. The reserve covers the gap between paying for holiday inventory in September and October and collecting for it in December. Every bottle is scanned through the point-of-sale system, so the buyer sees slow movers each week, and a count every quarter checks the records. Breakage and shrink are budgeted at 1.2% of goods sold.

A year on the calendar

January to August is a steady trade at a thin margin of safety, with tastings and the club carrying the slower months. September is the buying month for the holiday: baskets are designed and priced, corporate orders open and inventory is bought. Between October and December the two holiday associates join, one on the floor and one at the packing bench, and the shop runs late hours in December. January resets the year with the club's annual refresh.

Hours, delivery and the room

The shop plans to open 66 hours a week, Monday to Saturday from 11 to 9 and Sunday from 12 to 6, hours the licensing board would confirm. Two people are on the floor at all hours, which takes about 132 floor hours a week, and the staff and the founder cover it with little to spare (see the staffing table). The part-time driver runs deliveries on a leased van, and a tasting class runs in the evening on two or three nights a week. Rent is about $60 a square foot a year on roughly 2,100 square feet, shared charges included, which comes to $126,000 in Year 1 and 8.7% of revenue. By Year 3 rent is 5.5% of revenue. Revenue per square foot of the whole 2,100 is $692 in Year 1 and $1,167 in Year 3. On the 1,500-foot selling room, shelf sales and classes alone come to about $737 in Year 1 and $1,076 in Year 3. The plan quotes no trade benchmark for either, and a lender would test whether a room this size can sell that much; the figure is the plan's most demanding volume and depends on the club, the baskets and the corporate list arriving on schedule.

Systems and insurance

A point-of-sale and inventory system with a web store, accounting software and an email platform cost $9,600 in Year 1. Insurance is $16,500 in Year 1 and covers general liability, liquor liability, property and inventory, cyber and business interruption, with workers' compensation inside the payroll on-cost. Card processing runs at 2.4% of card sales.


Cris Martin and the Floor Team

Cris buys the wine, sets the calendar and runs the floor. Cris has nine years in wine retail and restaurant buying around Boston, the last four as a buyer for a restaurant group. The example names no employer, award or sales result. The founder's $280,000 is savings, in part from the sale of a share in a condo, and the salary is $72,000 a year, inside the costs.

A store manager and lead sommelier, a full-time hire from month 1, runs the floor, leads the classes and trains the staff. One full-time associate and two part-time associates open the doors, a part-time driver covers deliveries and the stockroom, and a club and gifting coordinator joins in month 9. A second weekend associate starts in month 25, and a third full-time associate in month 43.

Three things are new to Cris: a retail lease, a liquor license and a bank covenant. Counsel reviews the lease and the license before either is signed, and the plan adds a bookkeeper who reconciles the inventory count each quarter and a monthly review with the bank. If Cris is away for a week, the manager runs the floor and the buying is done from the standing order list.

The two investors receive quarterly accounts. Any distribution is shared 70% to Cris and 30% to the investors, and the plan pays none before Year 5, when it pays $50,000. The investors leave either through a sale of the business or by selling to Cris at a price based on trailing profit. Bookkeeping and the annual tax return sit inside $10,500 of Year 1 professional fees, and counsel is retained for the lease, the license and the gifting terms.


What a lender would still ask

  • The lease: term, deposit, personal guaranty and renewal. The plan uses a five-year lease, and the shelving and wine room are depreciated over the same five years. Four months from lease to opening is aggressive, and the $55,000 pre-opening line is tight.
  • The license route, its price and its timetable in writing, since the $85,000 is a planning figure. The reserve covers a license about $30,000 dearer before the lowest month reaches zero, and less after inventory timing; one $85,000 dearer leaves Year 1 with $9,489 of cash and months 6 to 12 negative. The model expenses the license and the deposit, so Year 1 assets and equity are understated.
  • Written confirmation that the license allows paid tastings and classes on the premises, since about $93,700 of Year 1 revenue and the tasting bar in the build-out depend on it.
  • Cris's references and buying history, and how the small-producer wines are allocated: which distributors carry them, how much of the shelf rests on the top five suppliers and what happens if one drops the shop.
  • Distributor price lists to test the 36% shelf margin, and the payment terms alcohol wholesalers may offer under state rules.
  • Debt cover of 1.5x in Year 2 in the base case and negative in the downside. The owners would ask for a covenant test that starts in Year 3, a limit on distributions while the loan is outstanding and the scope of the personal guaranty.
  • The basis of the 70/30 split: $280,000 of cash and credit for the founder's work against $240,000 of investor cash for 30%.
  • Sales-tax remittance timing and the excise on alcohol sold, which the model does not carry as a year-end liability.
  • Month-by-month cash for Year 2, since the monthly view is shown for Year 1 only.
  • Hours and cover: 124 employee hours plus about 20 from the founder against about 132 needed leaves little room for sick leave in Year 1.

Sensitivities from the engine

Each case changes one input and holds the rest; net income is after start-up costs.

CaseYear 2 net incomeYear 3 net incomeYear 2 closing cash
Base$34,132$105,084$96,706
Margin 2 points lower on every line($7,832)$61,230$24,258
Margin 3 points lower on every line($28,814)$36,717($11,966)
Wages 10% higher($7,730)$64,329$18,604
Rent 15% higher$14,662$90,199$58,336
Sales 10% lower, no management response($46,714)$15,806($32,234)
Sales 20% lower, no management response($127,561)($78,642)($161,173)

Two readings stand out. A 10% shortfall with no response leaves cash negative in Year 2, so the plan depends on the cost response described in the downside case below, and a 20% shortfall cannot be survived without it. A 2-point margin loss is the most likely single slip: it cuts Year 3 profit by about 42% and turns Year 2 into a loss.


The Numbers Behind the Bottles

One five-year model generates every table that follows, with 2027 shown month by month and later years as single columns. Funding and shop figures lead, which lets each result be traced back to its input.

Inventory, build-out and the license

Use of fundsAmount
Opening inventory: wine, a small spirits and sake shelf, gift packaging$175,000
Shelving, cooled wine room, tasting bar, counters, lighting$98,000
Point of sale, inventory software set-up, glassware, hand truck, packing bench$24,000
Package-store license: transfer or application, local and state filings, license counsel (planning figure)$85,000
Legal: entity, investor agreement, lease review, distributor and gifting terms$9,000
Rent during build-out and licensing, lease deposit and staff training$55,000
Launch: signage, web shop, opening tastings, neighborhood and corporate outreach$24,000
Cash reserve for the slow first months and the fall inventory build$250,000
Total uses$720,000
Source of fundsAmount
Cris Martin's savings and the sale of a condo share$280,000
Two minority investors (30% of the company between them)$240,000
Bank term loan$200,000
Total sources$720,000

The company raises $720,000. Cris Martin puts in $280,000 of savings and the sale of a condo share, two minority investors buy 30% of the company for $240,000 between them, and a bank provides a $200,000 term loan at 10.5% with a 72-month term and no principal due in the first 12. That rate is illustrative, not a lender's quote, and a government-guaranteed program is something the owners would ask about, not rely on. The bank would hold the inventory and fixtures as security, and Cris backs the loan with a personal guarantee. Opening inventory and the cash reserve are the two largest uses. Cris's 70% stake is worth $560,000 on the $800,000 value the investors accept after their $240,000 goes in; $280,000 of it is cash and the rest is credit for the work of building the business, the supplier relationships and the personal guarantee, which is why the investors hold 30% of the company for 46% of the equity cash. The $250,000 reserve pays for the Year 1 losses and the inventory build, and the lowest month, October, leaves about $32,000 of it unspent; that margin is thinner after inventory timing, because a wine shop pays distributors for holiday inventory in September and October and is paid for it in December, and the monthly view does not time that purchasing. The reserve is also the only contingency for a build-out overrun, a license that costs more than planned or an opening that slips a quarter, and it covers those only up to that margin: a license $30,000 dearer leaves $1,552. Four months from signing the lease to opening, covering build-out and a license transfer, is an aggressive timetable, and the $55,000 pre-opening line (four months of rent, a deposit and staff training) is tight; both are paid from the reserve if they run over. About $15,000 a month of rent, utilities, insurance and loan interest runs before the first sale, so a three-month slip costs about $45,000 (a figure worked outside the engine).

Shop figures the forecast rests on

  • In-store bottle sales are counted in register transactions: 16,500 in Year 1 at an average of $63 (two bottles at a typical $26 to $36 shelf price, plus the occasional case), about 53 a day over 310 selling days, rising to 22,500 in Year 3 and 24,200 in Year 5. The shop pays 64% of shelf price for what it sells, a 36% gross margin after a 10% case discount that applies to roughly one purchase in five. That margin is the plan's own pricing choice for a curated, low-volume range that is not price-matched against the large chains. It is not an industry benchmark, and the plan cites none; the owners set it below what the range could support at full price so that it holds after discounts and breakage. It is also the most sensitive figure in the plan: each point of margin across every line is about $24,500 of Year 3 gross profit, two points off every line cut Year 3 net income to $61,230 and turn Year 2 into a $7,832 loss, and three points cut Year 3 to $36,717. The owners' buying terms are example figures, and distributor price lists are the first document a banker would request.
  • Online and phone orders with local delivery number 1,200 in Year 1 at an average of $102, and 2,300 in Year 3, at a 35% margin. Whether and how the shop may deliver alcohol, and to whom, depends on its license and on state and local rules that the plan does not state. The plan's position is that delivery stays local and within the license, with an age check at the door, and it does not ship to other states.
  • The wine club starts in month 2 and ends Year 1 with 165 members, about 190 sign-ups at 3% monthly churn. Members pay a blended $80 a month: about 63% take a two-bottle tier at $66 and the rest a three-bottle tier at $104, picked by the shop and collected in the store or delivered locally. Average membership is 215 in Year 2, 250 in Year 3 and 285 in Year 5, at a 35% margin.
  • Tastings and classes sell 1,150 seats in Year 1 at $58, about 22 a week, which is two sessions of roughly 12 people in a 16-seat bar (a 75% fill), and 1,800 seats in Year 3. Private and corporate tasting events run 18 times in Year 1 at $1,500 for a group of about 16, and 44 times in Year 3. The two lines earn margins of 66% and 70% because the cost is pours, glassware breakage and a visiting producer or instructor. The plan's position is that ticketed tastings are allowed under the shop's license; if the licensing board does not permit them as modeled, the classes would run on different terms and about $93,700 of Year 1 revenue and the use of a $98,000 build-out that includes the tasting bar would be in question. A package-store license may not cover a paid tasting bar on the premises, so the owners would get written confirmation from the licensing board before signing the lease.
  • Gift baskets sell 800 units in Year 1 at $96 and corporate gifting 55 orders at $800. In Year 1 about 69% of the two lines lands in November and December, and together they are 10.7% of revenue in Year 3. Baskets earn 45% because they bundle bought-in food and packing labor, and corporate orders 42%, with packaging and ribbon in cost of goods. Corporate invoices are on 30-day terms, and the 55 first-season orders come mostly in September to December, after the coordinator starts in month 9.
  • Blended gross margin is about 38.5% in every year. The engine applies one blended direct-cost rate, taken from the Year 1 mix, to every year, so the per-line margins quoted here hold only in Year 1. The $175,000 of opening inventory stays on the shelves, and the shop carries a further 10% of each year's cost of goods. Year-end inventory is $264,273 in Year 1 and $352,184 in Year 5, which is 3.4 turns on year-end inventory in Year 1 and 5.0 in Year 5. Distributors are paid in 24 days on average. That is a planning figure: payment-term rules for alcohol sold by wholesalers differ from ordinary trade credit, and counsel would confirm what applies.
  • The model carries receivables equal to 6 days of all sales, a blended allowance. Cash sales settle at the register and card sales within a day or two, and corporate invoices wait 30 days; the year-end balance of $23,874 sits against December corporate invoices of $18,353 plus card settlements in transit. Sales tax the shop collects on the state's behalf stays out of revenue; the model does not carry a year-end sales-tax payable or time its remittance.
  • On-costs of 27% on top of wages cover payroll tax, health contributions, workers' compensation and paid leave, and part-time roles carry 15%. The wages listed in the staffing table are opening rates; 3% raises appear on their own line starting in Year 2. Part-time and full-time associate rates work out to about $22 an hour, well above the state minimum wage, and the $64,000 manager salary is above the federal exempt-salary floor; both thresholds change, and the plan treats them as figures to confirm with the state Attorney General's office and the Department of Labor. The two holiday associates are shown at an annual-equivalent rate and paid for October to December only.
  • Rent covers about 2,100 square feet, a ground-floor selling room of roughly 1,500 square feet with a tasting bar and a basement stockroom and packing bench, with shared charges included, rent runs near $60 a square foot a year, or $126,000 in Year 1, and rises 3% annually. Retail rents in Boston differ a great deal from one block to the next, so the rate is a planning figure for a broker to check against a real address. The lease deposit sits inside the pre-opening line. Shelving, the wine room and the tasting bar are depreciated over five years, the same as the lease term. Prices rise 3% a year from Year 2.
  • The $85,000 license line is the least certain number in the plan, and the license is the main risk to it. Massachusetts package-store licenses are granted by the local licensing authority, and the number available is capped. Outside Boston, General Laws chapter 138, section 17 sets the cap by population, and the section carves Boston out, so the plan does not state how many package licenses Boston allows. A capped license generally changes hands in a private sale, so the price comes from scarcity rather than from a fee schedule, and no public price list exists for one. The $85,000 is therefore the plan's own planning figure for a transfer of an existing license plus filings and counsel, and it could be well short. Availability matters more than price: if no license can be bought on acceptable terms in the neighborhood, the shop cannot open. The shelf includes spirits and sake, so the plan budgets for a license class that covers them. The reserve covers a license about $30,000 dearer before the lowest month reaches zero. At $35,000 more, October goes negative; at $85,000 more, Year 1 closes with $9,489 of cash and months 6 to 12 are negative. These lows use the monthly view's own basis (6 days of receivables deducted) and would be lower after inventory timing. The model expenses the $85,000 license line and the lease deposit as start-up costs in Year 1; a purchased license and a deposit would be assets, so Year 1 assets and equity are understated by those amounts. The owners would settle the license terms before signing the lease.
  • Card processing runs at 2.4% of sales paid by card. Breakage and spoilage run at 1.2% of goods sold. A leased van, fuel and delivery insurance are $11,500 in Year 1. Tasting-event permits and renewals are a $3,800 planning figure.
  • The model taxes profit at the 21% federal corporate rate (26 U.S.C. 11(b)) plus an 8% Massachusetts corporate excise, which is a planning figure that could change; the Department of Revenue's current instructions govern. Because the Year 1 operating loss carries forward, no income tax appears in Years 1 and 2, and some begins in Year 3. The $173,000 of start-up costs is left out of the tax base, a cautious choice, and the calculation also leaves out the federal 80% limit on using loss carryforwards, so Year 3 tax may differ; an adviser would confirm both. An S corporation election is not modeled.
  • No distribution is paid until Year 5, when retained earnings are positive again. The one distribution in the plan is $50,000, with $48,767 of the bank loan still outstanding, so the owners would expect the bank to cap distributions until the loan is repaid. Cash builds from Year 3 and is held for the holiday inventory cycle; the owners would also consider prepaying part of the loan.
  • Years 2 to 5 are spread evenly across months. The November and December peak is shown in Year 1 and recurs every year, but the model does not draw it again. The monthly view also spreads annual costs evenly, so the pre-opening months and the downside case timing are approximate.

Revenue from shelf to gift basket

Revenue streamYear 1Year 2Year 3Year 4Year 5
In-store bottle sales$1,039,500$1,330,245$1,503,826$1,617,782$1,715,951
Online and phone orders with local delivery$122,400$199,614$248,887$278,645$304,225
Wine club memberships$75,920$212,592$254,616$283,235$307,939
Tastings and classes$66,700$95,584$110,758$122,320$131,865
Private and corporate tasting events$27,000$52,530$70,019$81,955$91,166
Gift baskets$76,800$108,768$127,308$141,617$151,268
Corporate gifting$44,000$98,880$135,795$161,724$180,081
Total revenue$1,452,320$2,098,213$2,451,209$2,687,278$2,882,495
Growth on prior year–44%17%10%7%

In-store sales are 72% of Year 1 revenue and 60% of Year 5. The wine club is the line that grows fastest in share, from 5% to 11%, because it repeats every month. Gift baskets and corporate gifting are $120,800 in Year 1 and $263,103 in Year 3, and they concentrate the year's risk in two months. Growth runs 44% in Year 2, 17% in Year 3, 10% in Year 4 and 7% in Year 5. Year 2 is the steepest rise because most of Year 1 is a ramp-up, while the club and the events then run for twelve months.

Month by month, January to the holiday peak

MonthIn-store bottle salesOnline and phone orders with local deliveryWine club membershipsTastings and classesPrivate and corporate tasting eventsGift basketsCorporate giftingTotal revenueEBITDA
Jan 2027$42,591$6,161$0$2,219$707$472$266$52,416($33,108)
Feb 2027$45,481$6,164$1,280$3,918$1,169$2,601$587$61,200($29,724)
Mar 2027$58,036$6,940$2,400$4,821$1,492$1,138$642$75,469($24,226)
Apr 2027$64,810$7,534$3,520$4,653$1,852$1,854$1,046$85,269($20,450)
May 2027$75,754$8,594$4,640$5,020$1,998$4,000$1,129$101,135($14,336)
Jun 2027$77,282$8,625$5,760$3,995$2,385$2,829$1,996$102,872($13,667)
Jul 2027$75,446$8,377$6,720$3,482$1,109$1,480$835$97,449($15,757)
Aug 2027$75,707$7,988$7,680$3,597$1,145$1,528$863$98,508($15,349)
Sep 2027$86,165$9,616$8,800$6,681$2,659$2,366$2,225$118,512($7,641)
Oct 2027$100,674$11,330$10,080$8,418$3,654$4,878$4,588$143,622$2,034
Nov 2027$124,362$15,579$11,840$9,183$4,263$16,259$11,470$192,956$21,043
Dec 2027$213,192$25,492$13,200$10,713$4,567$37,395$18,353$322,912$71,116

Sales climb from the January lull to a small summer plateau and take off in October. November and December together are 36% of Year 1 revenue, and December alone is $322,912, or 22%. EBITDA (profit before interest, depreciation and tax) is negative from January to September and positive in October ($2,034), November ($21,043) and December ($71,116). Over a third of the year's revenue arrives in two months, and the three months from October bring in $94,193 of EBITDA against a loss of $80,064 for the full year. This monthly view shows cash lowest in Oct, at about $32,000. It does not time the extra inventory purchases or the distributor balances, so the annual statements govern and the true low in the fall is thinner than the figure shown, so the unspent margin of the reserve is smaller than it looks.

Who is on the floor and when

RoleAnnual wageStartsYear 1 endYear 2 endYear 3 endYear 4 endYear 5 end
Founder, owner and head buyer$72,000Month 111111
Store manager and lead sommelier$64,000Month 111111
Wine associate (full time)$46,000Month 111111
Evening associate (part time, 24 hours a week)$27,000Month 10.50.50.50.50.5
Weekend associate (part time, 20 hours a week)$23,000Month 10.50.50.50.50.5
Delivery driver and stockroom (part time, 24 hours a week)$27,000Month 10.50.50.50.50.5
Club and gifting coordinator$52,000Month 911111
Holiday associate, floor (October to December)$36,000Month 100.50.50.50.50.5
Holiday associate, gift packing (October to December)$36,000Month 100.50.50.50.50.5
Second weekend associate (part time, 20 hours a week)$23,000Month 25––0.50.50.5
Third wine associate (full time)$46,000Month 43–––11
Total payroll incl. on-costs$362,403$406,430$432,880$462,090$491,300

Cris, a store manager who leads the floor, one full-time associate, two part-time associates and a part-time driver open the doors. The shop is open 66 hours a week (Monday to Saturday 11 to 9, Sunday 12 to 6, hours the owners would confirm with the licensing board), and two people on the floor at all times need about 132 floor hours. The manager (40), the full-time associate (40), the evening associate (24) and the weekend associate (20) supply 124, and Cris covers about 20 more on the floor around the buying, which leaves about 12 hours a week for vacations, sick leave, receiving and tasting nights. That is thin in Year 1, and the founder absorbs the gaps. The driver (24 hours) handles deliveries and the stockroom. The club and gifting coordinator starts in month 9, in time to build the corporate list before the holiday orders arrive. Two holiday associates, one on the floor and one packing baskets, work October to December every year and are shown at an annual-equivalent $36,000 each, paid for three months. A second weekend associate starts in month 25 and a third full-time associate in month 43, each after the preceding year's volumes show the floor is stretched. The profit lines come after Cris's $72,000 salary, which is paid from month one and sits in payroll.

Margins, costs and what is left

Year 1Year 2Year 3Year 4Year 5
Revenue$1,452,320$2,098,213$2,451,209$2,687,278$2,882,495
Cost of goods (wine, spirits, gift packaging, event pours)($892,726)($1,289,750)($1,506,733)($1,651,842)($1,771,840)
Gross profit$559,594$808,463$944,476$1,035,436$1,110,655
Payroll incl. on-costs($362,403)($406,430)($432,880)($462,090)($491,300)
Rent($126,000)($129,800)($133,700)($137,700)($141,800)
Utilities($13,200)($13,600)($14,000)($14,400)($14,800)
Marketing($30,000)($29,000)($30,000)($31,000)($32,000)
Insurance($16,500)($17,800)($19,000)($20,000)($21,000)
Professional fees($10,500)($11,000)($11,500)($12,000)($12,500)
Software subscriptions($9,600)($10,400)($11,000)($11,500)($12,000)
Card processing fees (2.4% of sales paid by card)($33,152)($46,723)($53,889)($58,646)($62,670)
Breakage, spoilage and shrink (1.2% of goods sold)($16,303)($23,401)($27,245)($29,796)($31,914)
Delivery van lease, fuel and delivery insurance($11,500)($14,500)($16,500)($17,500)($18,500)
Bad debt allowance on corporate invoices($1,500)($2,800)($3,500)($4,000)($4,300)
Tasting-event licenses, permits and renewals (planning figure)($3,800)($4,000)($4,100)($4,300)($4,400)
Equipment replacement and fixture refresh$0($3,000)($4,000)($5,000)($5,500)
Phones, supplies, packaging, dues and training($5,200)($5,800)($6,200)($6,600)($7,000)
Annual pay raises (3% a year)$0($12,193)($26,362)($42,848)($61,662)
EBITDA($80,064)$78,016$150,600$178,056$189,309
Depreciation($24,400)($24,400)($24,400)($24,400)($24,400)
Interest($21,000)($19,484)($15,947)($12,019)($7,659)
Income tax$0$0($5,169)($38,695)($42,961)
Net income before start-up costs($125,464)$34,132$105,084$102,942$114,290
Start-up costs expensed at opening (license, legal, rent during build-out, launch)($173,000)$0$0$0$0
Net income after start-up costs($298,464)$34,132$105,084$102,942$114,290

Year 1 ends with a loss of $125,464 ahead of start-up costs and $298,464 once the $173,000 of start-up costs is counted; EBITDA is negative $80,064. The $85,000 license line is part of that $173,000. The first profit arrives in Year 2 at $34,132, a 1.6% net margin that is thin enough for the sensitivities below to erase it. Year 3 brings $105,084 (4.3%), Year 4 $102,942 (3.8%) and Year 5 $114,290 (4.0%), with EBITDA at 6.1% of revenue in Year 3 and 6.6% in Year 5. Profit dips slightly in Year 4 although EBITDA climbs $27,456, because income tax steps from $5,169 to a full $38,695 once the Year 1 loss is used. Payroll with pay raises takes 25% of revenue in Year 1 and 19% in Year 3; the raises alone reach $61,662 a year by Year 5. Rent drops from 8.7% of revenue to 5.5% in Year 3 because the lease stays fixed while sales grow.

Where the cash goes: inventory, rent and the loan

Year 1Year 2Year 3Year 4Year 5
Cash from operations($503,511)$34,318$116,251$118,492$131,371
Shelving, wine room, tasting bar and point of sale($122,000)$0$0$0$0
Funding received$720,000$0$0$0$0
Loan principal repaid$0($32,101)($35,639)($39,566)($43,927)
Owner distributions$0$0$0$0($50,000)
Net change in cash$94,489$2,217$80,612$78,925$37,445
Closing cash$94,489$96,706$177,318$256,243$293,688

Cash ends every year above zero, and the smallest year-end balance is $94,489 in Year 1, although the balance falls lower mid-year while holiday inventory is paid for. Loan principal starts to come due in month 13 and totals $32,101 in Year 2. Retained earnings first turn positive in Year 5 ($7,984, after the $50,000 distribution). Years 4 and 5 hold between about $256,000 and $294,000 of cash. That balance is idle on purpose: it protects against a weak holiday season and is the first source for prepaying the loan.

Balance sheet with inventory and distributor balances

At year endYear 1Year 2Year 3Year 4Year 5
Cash$94,489$96,706$177,318$256,243$293,688
Accounts receivable$23,874$34,491$40,294$44,174$47,383
Wine and gift inventory on hand$264,273$303,975$325,673$340,184$352,184
Shelving, wine room, tasting bar and point of sale (net)$97,600$73,200$48,800$24,400$0
Total assets$480,235$508,372$592,085$665,002$693,255
Distributor and supplier balances (accounts payable)$58,700$84,805$99,073$108,614$116,505
Bank term loan$200,000$167,899$132,260$92,694$48,767
Paid-in capital$520,000$520,000$520,000$520,000$520,000
Retained earnings($298,464)($264,332)($159,248)($56,306)$7,984
Total liabilities and equity$480,235$508,372$592,085$665,002$693,255

Inventory turns, break-even and debt cover

MeasureYear 1Year 2Year 3Year 4Year 5
EBITDA margin-5.5%3.7%6.1%6.6%6.6%
Net margin (before start-up costs)-8.6%1.6%4.3%3.8%4.0%
Payroll incl. pay raises as share of revenue25%20%19%19%19%
Revenue per full-time equivalent at year end$223,434$322,802$350,173$335,910$360,312
Average monthly revenue$121,027$174,851$204,267$223,940$240,208
Monthly revenue needed to cover operating costs$138,343$157,978$171,696$185,431$199,265
Debt service cover (EBITDA / interest + principal)-3.8x1.5x2.9x3.5x3.7x

In the last three rows, average monthly revenue sits beside the monthly revenue required to cover operating costs. Year 1 brings in $121,027 a month against $138,343 required; Year 2, $174,851 against $157,978; Year 3, $204,267 against $171,696. Debt cover is negative in Year 1, then 1.5x in Year 2 as principal begins, 2.9x in Year 3 and 3.7x in Year 5. Revenue for each full-time equivalent reaches $350,173 in Year 3, which relies on the coordinator and the part-time driver leaving the floor staff free to sell. Year-end inventory turns 3.4 times in Year 1 and 5.0 times in Year 5.

One sale in five missing

Year 1Year 2Year 3Year 4Year 5
Revenue$1,161,856$1,678,570$1,960,967$2,149,822$2,305,996
Net income before start-up costs($181,804)($59,862)$5,910$53,678$93,864
Net income after start-up costs($354,804)($59,862)$5,910$53,678$93,864
Closing cash$70,465$25,160$50,090$64,740$113,605

Here every revenue line runs 20% lower in every year, the way a soft economy or the loss of a corporate account would hit. The owners respond after six months, not immediately. From month 7 Cris takes a 20% pay cut and the evening associate loses a quarter of the hours. Three hires never happen: the second weekend associate, the third full-time associate and the gift-packing holiday associate. The club and gifting coordinator arrives six months late. Marketing is cut 20% from Year 2, with Year 1 marketing left untrimmed. Card fees, breakage and bad debt move with sales, but the van lease, rent and software do not. Inventory is held at 7% of cost of goods rather than 10%, the bank extends the interest-only period to 36 months, and nothing is distributed. The result is a Year 1 loss of $354,804 after start-up costs and $59,862 in Year 2, then a profit from Year 3 of just $5,910. Cash stays positive at every year end, never lower than $25,160, and Year 1 equity is $165,196; cash is below the base case each year. On the base case's own monthly basis (6 days of receivables deducted), the Year 1 low is about $11,000 in October against about $32,000 in the base case, and the annual statements govern, so the true low is thinner. Debt cover is negative in Years 1 and 2 (-6.5x and -0.7x), 2.4x in Year 3 and 1.2x in Year 4 once principal starts. A 1.25x covenant would therefore be breached in Year 2 even on an interest-only loan and narrowly missed in Year 4. The owners would ask the bank to grant the 36-month interest-only term at the outset, to start covenant testing in Year 3 and to allow an equity cure from the investors before any default. With the same 20% shortfall and no response at all, Year 1 cash ends at negative $6,540 and the shop runs short in the fall, so the response is what keeps it open.


Sources

  • Massachusetts General Laws, chapter 138, section 17 (malegislature.gov): caps section 15 licenses by population and excludes Boston. The plan does not state Boston's cap or its board's process. Which license class covers wine, spirits and sake, the route, the price, ticketed tastings, delivery and distributor payment terms are planning positions to be confirmed with counsel and the Boston Licensing Board before any lease is signed.
  • Federal corporate income tax: 21% under 26 U.S.C. 11(b) (law.cornell.edu).
  • Massachusetts corporate excise: the 8% rate in the model is a planning figure that may change; confirm against current Department of Revenue guidance. The state's sales and alcohol excise taxes are not modeled beyond the sales-tax pass-through noted above, and confirm against the same guidance.
  • Minimum wage and the exempt-salary floor: not quoted. The wages in the plan are the example business's own and would be checked against the Massachusetts Attorney General's current figures and the federal Department of Labor's.
  • Market, pricing, margin, rent and staffing figures in this plan are the example business's own choices. No third-party market statistics or trade margin benchmarks are quoted, and local rent would be confirmed with a broker.

Create a plan as complete as this one

Pick the amount of help you want.

Do it yourself

$197 Toolkit, 12 months

Build your plan with the AI Wizard and every tool you need, at your own pace.

Start my plan →

Done with you

$497 Toolkit Plus, 12 months

Our AI builds the plan with you, section by section, from your answers.

Want a person too? Upgrade to a consultation with an MBA graduate.

See Toolkit Plus →

Done for you

From $1,997 written for you

We research and write the whole plan, and you review the finished draft.

See the writing service →

That is the example. For your own business, the wine store business plan template walks you through each section.

Like this plan? Build your own →

Disclaimer: This is a sample business plan created for illustrative purposes only. “Vino Maestro” is a fictional business. All financial figures, projections, and market data are examples and should not be relied on for actual business decisions. © BusinessPlanHub. All rights reserved.

Ready to write your own Wine Store business plan?

Use BusinessPlanHub to build a professional, investor-ready plan in a fraction of the time.

Get Started →